Questions from Acquapendente to Rome (8 day walk)

Discussion in 'Via Francigena in Italy' started by coldweather, Dec 12, 2015.

1. coldweather

coldweather New Member

I just learned of this Camino 3 days ago as I had dinner with a couple I know that just completed the Camino Frances. The husband mentioned the VF and here I go… I almost have my flight booked for April 2016 and I have contacted a few accommodations.

I am a veteran of the Camino Frances 2013. I just ordered my Lightfoot guide and the Cicerone guide but I have not received them yet. I have some questions I hope this forum can lead to answers.

1. How is the safety for a woman walking alone from Acquapendente to Rome (8 day walk)? (This is my most important question.)

2. How much water/food is available along the way? Most all of the pictures show agricultural fields. Are their places to stop throughout the day?

3. How frequent are supermarkets in the typical stage ending towns? How easy to restock snacks/lunch every day.

4. Restaurants – How easy to find breakfast and dinner near accommodations?

Thanks in advance for any advice.

2. William Marques

William Marques Moderator Staff Member

For the section of the journey you are contemplating (except for question 1 which I cannot answer as we were a couple) I would say the answers are all positive. Although there are fields and countryside you are getting close to Rome so the towns are not far apart. There will be supermarkets in all the towns and plenty of cafes, pizzerias and trattorias to stop at.

The refugio network as on the Caminos does not exist properly yet on the VF so you may find it difficult to make a very early start and by the time you start walking the cafes will be open.

coldweather likes this.
  3. Bradypus

Bradypus Active Member